The Swoony Scent of Bobby Martini’s Jade East Cologne

I was just driving home from a Hollywood bash where my ex Michael was belting out Humble Pie’s  “I Don’t Need No Doctor,”  (he ruled the  night with his massive pipes) and an old song came on my wonderful XM  radio 50s channel, The Righteous Brothers’ “Unchained Melody.”

Back in  1964 when I was going steady with Bobby Martini, that song was OUR  song, so of course loads of teen memories came flooding into me The awesome power of music beats and strums through my veins, and is actually my lifeblood.  It takes me from now to then and back again, and my heart opens wide  with gratitude to all those brilliant musicians who touch me over and  over again . . . and I was cradled in the past like floating downstream.

The awesome power of  music beats and strums through my veins, and is actually my lifeblood.  It takes me from now to then and back again, and my heart opens wide  with gratitude to all those brilliant musicians who touch me over and over again . . . Bobby Hatfield died alone in a hotel room, popped and split by too much cocaine, but his exquisite voice continues to survive and thrive and move me to tears, taking me back to the Reseda Teen Center and the swoony scent of Bobby Martini’s Jade East cologne,  and for that I am humbly grateful . . .

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

