A DAY IN THE LIFE

Hi dolls,
Amazingly, here we are in mid-August. Yikes! It’s been quite an outrageous few days. Wondrous experiences and not so damn wondrous. At my Apple One to One session last week my ‘teacher’ pompously obliterated 19,000 of my saved emails never to be found again. Popped like a fragile bubble at a long ago love-in. Bye bye! All of Mike’s  love letters, my class and tour contacts, airline info, reams and reams of pals’ memories that are lost in the ethers.  Sigh.  I was sooooo pissed but eventually had to let it go as I am a practicing Buddha, don’t you know! Here is a typical day for the world’s most famous groupie. ha ha ha!  That moniker will always crack me up.

Today I rose at approx 9:30 AM and drank my Papua New Guinea coffee (alkaline- actually good for me!) and read the L.A. Times to wake me  up. I just love the feel and crackle of newsprint in the morning. I  had a phone meeting with my dear agent, Peter McGuigan, in which he  told me he is having trouble convincing certain high-falutin’  publishers that my newest book offering, “Blinded By the Light- Confessions of a Gurupie,” is a MUST READ! It seems they want me to write only about groupie-dom and music, can’t see past that, and I  have to GROW as a writer, dolls! This spiritual memoir is all- important to me, and I know the right free-thinking, wild-hearted  someone will come along and sign it right up! I have such faith in the  project that I am not worried.  Om. Om. Om.  After all, “I’m With the  Band” got many many rejection slips…

Then…I went to Kinko’s and picked up the latest rendition of my  James Dean/Toni Lee Scott true story script for a new lit agent to read. That’s another project I will never give up on. The true, true 
untold story of that magnificent icon and the profound friendship he had with a certain young female jazz singer. Then…I puffed and panted my way through my Curves circuit training routine. I have lost 6 pounds swearing off wheat and gluten. Yay! 

Then…I did an interview with the New York Post about the difference between the groupie heyday and groupies today. She kept asking about the girls that try to nab REALITY SHOW celebs. There is no comparison to music-adoring dolls who want to experience moments with those gods  who inspire creativity and pure abandoned horniness, to those who just want a moment of fame with a passing fad. Who knows what she’ll print.  It is the Post after all. I will take any opportunity to praise my sisters-in-soul, the GROUPIES!

Then…Tim Gibbons, my producer on Band (we are trying to set up a  cable TV series sort of like Sex & the City mixed with Entourage mixed with That 70s show, set in Laurel Canyon in 1969 starring the GTOs)  set up a meeting next week with one of my fave young actresses! I am ‘dead chuffed’ as they say in the UK, and can’t wait to blast her with groovy tales from my past.

Then…I gussied up and had my make-up done for a documentary about fame in Hollywood, which was shot here at my little cottage by the  sea. They asked me to read a snippet from Band and I read a piece about the night Waylon Jennings appeared at my lavender door at 5 AM  wearing 2 leather wristbands and a come-hither snarl.

And now…I am listing some incredible trippy hippie garments on EBay- including a Granny Takes a Trip jacket from 1971!  (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=400066743623&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT ) In an hour I’ll be teaching my beginning creative writing class,  full of talented, dreamy girls expressing themselves brilliantly…how 
was YOUR day???

Smooches, Miss P.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “A DAY IN THE LIFE”

  1. Miss Sahara Says:

    So sorry to hear about the loss of all those emails, memories and contacts. I had something similar happen to me a while ago. My mum was cleaning out my childhood home and she accidentally threw out ALL of my teen years poems, writings, diaries and the “interesting” school assignments.

    I was so bummed out. All I could think was those Asian monks that make those huge sand mandalas. So intricate, so painstaking to make… and then they got o the river and toss it all away to free their souls of attachment. Like a cleansing exercise.

  2. maria agel schaefer Says:

    MISS P, WHEN I READ YOUR BLOG,IT STRUCK ME HOW RIGHT YOU ARE,TODAYS YOUNG STARS HOOKING UP IS NOT THE SAME AS LOVING A SONG OR A BAND TILL U BLEED.AS IM WRITING THIS IM SHAKING, IT REMINDS ME OF WHEN YOU WROTE IN “IM WITH THE BAND” MEETING MISS PATTIE BOYD!!!!!!WHEN IS THE MOVIE VERSION COMING OUT?ITS A STORY THAT NEEDS TO BE TOLD.MISS P, IM A 45 YEAR OLD GROUPIE,INACTIVE FOR QUITE SOME TIME,MARRIED FOR 20 YEARS.WISH I COULD GO ON YOUR TOUR,BUT MY DAD PASSED HAVE TO GO TO COLORADO.YOURE THE BEST.GTOS FOREVER!!!!!!LOVES,LOVES,LOVES A FELLOW GROUPIE BOWS TO THE QUEEN!!!!!

  3. maria angel schaefer Says:

    MISS P,LEFT THE YAHOO OF MY E-MAIL,HOPE ALL IS WELL!!!!!!AGAIN I BOW TO THE QUEEN,CAN I CURTSEY NEXT TIME MY BACK IS STARTING TO HURT???????BY THE WAY I GOT GEORGE HARRISON WHEN I WAS GROWING UP(I WAS 10) …………MAYBE IT WAS A RIGHT OF PASSAGE FOR YOUNG GIRLS EVERYWHERE …………….LOVES,LOVES,LOVES MARIA

Leave a Reply

