Another “Thrill”-packed Week

jtq2Another thrill-packed week, literally, dolls. A couple nights ago, my ex-ex-ex, Jimmy ‘Thrill’ Quill reunited his 80s band, Rattlesnake  Shake for a sizzling sexy show at the Hollywood dive The Dragonfly.

Jimmy "Thrill" Quill

Jimmy "Thrill" Quill

I was reminded once again what a huge  part sensuality plays in rock & roll. And where is it these days?  Who is  acting out the original meaning of the words Rock and Roll today? Sex  is sorely lacking on concert stages all over the world. The King is  rolling in his grave – can’t you hear him? I’m surprised he doesn’t  crawl up though the sod and Graceland grass shards to remind musicians  how it’s done. The beat alone demands gyrating hip movements and fired  up places below the waist….ah, don’t get me started.

jtq3

I would  appreciate hearing from some of you dolls about your fave young sexy  bands. Send me some Youtube clips or point me in the right direction.  Jack White is, of course, the exception, and I am  going to both Dead  Weather shows in L.A. next week…hopefully some of Jack’s flailing  drumming-fueled sweat will land somewhere on my panting person.

I did another fab gear Rock Tour on Sunday with a full van of  curious, enervated rock lovers. One girl came from Chicago, another  was from Spain. As usual, we had a glorious time. People seem to love  our stop at the Canyon Country Store in Laurel Canyon, which hasn’t  changed a whit since Back in the Day. One of the fellows asked me if I  ever dreamed that the antics I got up to 40 years ago would one day  have me taking people on a tour of my old stomping grounds. It made me  realize what a charmed and fantabulous life I have had this time  around. People actually pay me to point out where I sniffed a wild and  crazy hallucinogen with the Lizard King in 1967, the exact spot  where I posed with the Flying Burrito Brothers in front of the Whiskey  a Go Go for a Newsweek photog. We even get into the same pose and  everybody takes loads of pictures. But yes, kind passenger, I did know  I was living through a pretty memorable time frame, and kept diaries to recall those moments in raging Tehcnicolor!

After we piled out of the van in front of Amoeba Records, I suggested  that a great capper to the day would be to head next door to the  Arclight theater to see “It Might Get Loud,” a documentary by the
fellow who directed AL Gore’s  frightening”An Inconvenient Truth.”  This doc brings Jimmy Page, U2’s the Edge and my modern hero, Jack  White, together to play their guitars for and with each other. Just a  genius concept. Three hot axmen from different eras. It was lovely to  see the grand old man, Mr.Page, with his white hair and graceful  elegance just blow away the other two when he launches into the  opening riff of Whole Lotta Love. The awe and reverence in their faces  is exquisite to behold. They just can’t hold it in. They look like lit  up little kids.  Jack rises entirely to the occasion, admitting that  he’s there to steal some chops from the other two. He opens the movie  by making a crude guitar from some old wood and a coke bottle and  electrifying the one lonely string. And his raunchy blues scenes  perked up my bloodstream, made it flow a little faster…just love the  guy. I’m not a massive U2 fan, but gained respect fro the Edge’s  devotion to technology and to his pedals. He’s a pretty deep Irish lad. It was a bit head spinny to watch Jimmy on the big screen after taking  the troupe to my old apartment on Alfred Street, where 40 years ago I  waited at my lavender door for the messenger boy to appear with my TWA  ticket from Mr. Page to go on the road with Led Zeppelin. I’m glad  he’s still on the planet with us. Sir James Patrick Page. Long may he  reign.

I was pretty pooped  that day because I d been out late seeing my fave living guitarist,  Tony Gilkyson (besides Mr. WHite and Mick Taylor) at my local, the  Cinema Bar on Sepulveda. He tore it up and I danced my rear end off  with my galpals. I sure missed Mike that night because I have seen him play there endless times, and passed the tip jar and counted the  money…sigh. I talk to him for an hour almost every day (late night)  on the phone and do count the days until I meet him in Virginia for my  birthday this year. (-9-9-09!!)

Something pretty groovy has happened regarding my “I’m WIth the  Band”project…stay tuned for further developments, dolls! You may  soon be watching my tumultuous life unfold on your flat screen TVs!

My advice to you sweet tarts out there- go get Dylan’s new album and  turn it up loud and listen closely to the words…It’s All Good…
Kisses,
Miss P.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Another “Thrill”-packed Week”

  1. amandamae Says:

    Walking sex — Jump, Little Children. A hit band regionally in the southeast in the late 90’s to the early 2000s, this was the band I followed religiously during my college days. Alas, they amicably broke up in 2005, but all the members are still active musicians. Zach Braff is a big fan, too!

    This is their “gateway drug” song, a pseudo-rap performed by their accordion/mandolin player. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVlxPWVf3eU This YouTube user has uploaded a number of songs from their DVD, too.

  2. Kelly Says:

    This isn’t a band but I believe it is something you should treat yourself to. HAIR the musical. Its on Broadway right now and it is AMAZING. Please go because I know you will love it Miss P. Try to get front row or an aisle seat, you will not be disappointed. I know you’re not an east coast gal but it is so worth coming over here for.

  3. Babzz Says:

    To me the ultimate young sexy band is Heavens Basement, 5 cheeky English boys that are driving rocker women of all ages crazy all over Europe lately!

    http://www.myspace.com/heavensbasementofficial

    They’re quite heavy rock with a bit of a glam edge. And they’re really really gorgeous 😉

  4. Anita Says:

    I’m hot out of the shute of a divorce, so hard sweating rock boys are a particularly divine diversion for me now! Love the juicy details, Miss Pamela dear…I know exactly what you mean when you say what you say about those creatures.

  5. Mister B Says:

    Miss Pamela,

    How is this for a segue’? My ex-wife and I were recently discussing our wedding and the subject of the strangest gift that we received was, and guess what, it was from you. Your book. I’m sure it was a last minute thing because Jimmy probably asked u last minute, but you have to admit, it was strange.
    I think that they would be crazy not to make a Theatrical released Full length Feature Film of your life.

  6. Marika Nietzsche Says:

    Aha Miss Pamela…..Well said and well done as always…Till Lindemann of Rammstein is a true sex God..A true son of Thor.Also Richard..They do put the S back into sex,the E back into sex and the X back into sex..Also Dero of Oomph!Check him out sometimes…O my Goddess!Yes I do adore my Euro rock groups.

    Many blessings to you and your family.And thank you for being you..

    Marika!

Leave a comment