The Golden God Speaks My Name and the Word is Good!

Greetings dolls o’ mine!
It’s been far too long since I chatted you all up! I have been one  busy chick lately, lots of travel and enervating negotiations going  on. I spent my usual week in the tiny town of Fairmount, Indiana,
celebrating the short, sweet, passionate life of its finest  inhabitant, James Byron Dean. It is always a treat to hang with the  unique array of ‘Deaners’, people that the rebel himself would have found delightfully strange, I’m sure. I started going to Fairmount 12  years ago when I was working on a Dean project that turned out to be a  screenplay – my first. I actually went to UCLa for 2 years so I could  learn the important factoids about writing for the screen. One day I  will meet the brave soul who’d like to produce the darn thing.

Sooooo…. I am so fortunate to be able to stay at the James Dean Gallery when I hit that little town of 2,900. I sleep so peacefully in  the room next to my dear pals, former New Yorkers, Dave and Lenny, the  charming fellow I dance with all over town. We came in second again at  the JD dance contest, losing out to a pair of white-haired charmers  pushing 90.

pamelajd

They arrived on a bicycle built for two and I knew the jig  was up, so to speak. It’s such a cosmic blast to dance with Lenny, we  have an exquisite connection when we dance like they did back in the  50s. Our tune was Rock Around the Clock and we merged with Bill Haley and his spectacular Comets as we twirled and spun. Lenny actually  taught me how to swing dance, as I was always a love-in freewheelin’  hippie dancer, and I am forever grateful to him.

nadinejd

I took my friend and  writing student, Nadine, to F’mount for the first time, she being a massive JD fan, and it’s such a thrill to share the experience. She wept at his grave just like I did when I first pulled up to his simple gravestone. James B Dean – 1931-1955. Sigh. He shook up the world by being surreally real, and film acting has never been the same since.

My longtime spiritual teacher Light (she was ‘Arianna’ in my second  book, Let’s Spend the Night Together)just turned 70 and I was  fortunate to have her birthday bash here at Chez Pamela. Her friends  and clients came from all over the world to kiss her holy ass. She treated us to many little gifts- creating little hand made scrolls for each of her students. Mine reads: “Make the divine your love, your hopes, your dreams, sing your songs of longing, loss and hopes to the divine. Be a groupie of THAT.”  She knows where I dwell, dolls.

I am off to Austin Thursday to teach my writing workshops, see my  goddaughter, Polly and great goddaughter Harper Lee, and spend some precious quality time in Houston with my darling Mike Stinson. He’s doing amazingly well there, lots of gigs and well-deserved attention.  I miss him insanely every day. I get to see 2 of his gigs while I’m there. I miss his music almost as much as his kisses.  And then I’m heading for NYC/Jersey to do that oddball ‘Chiller’ autograph signing  deal. It’s my first and I don’t know what to expect. Come see me!! I  just printed up a passel of photos and cds and will be offering them here soon ~ signed just for YOU!

It looks like my groupie doc based on Let’s Spend the Night Together’ is really going to happen! VH1 is on board and we start shooting soon. Can’t wait to see Sweet Connie in Little Rock and  Cynthia Plaster Caster in Chicago. Such great tales, captured forever!
yay!

If you’re local in L.A., join me for my next Rock Tour November  14! Already filling up. FUNfunfun!

If you sweethearts haven’t seen or heard my fave rave Todd Snider, please check him out. I have my faves and he’s been in the Top Ten for  a long time. My friend Kymm and I saw him play the Grammy museum last week and hung out with him for awhile, grooving it up. He sings from the center of his heart and touches you where it hurts and hums…he ran into Robert Plant at the airport a few days ago and mentioned that he knew me and RP lit up apparently, saying all kinds of yummy things about me. The Golden God speaks my name and the Word is good. Ha ha!  Life is grand!

pamelant

pamelant2pamelant3

Luvluvluv,
Miss P.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “The Golden God Speaks My Name and the Word is Good!”

  1. Jackie Blue Says:

    Great pictures ! You are like the fun, famous cool/sister best friend we all wish we had 🙂

  2. Caroline Casey Says:

    Hi Pamela!

    Thank you for a truly enlightening workshop last night! Yesterday when you were talking about James Dean and Fairmount I was going to ask if you knew Lenny and David Loehr, but I didn’t…isn’t that funny? I love playing the Rockabilly Rebel Weekend they put on and attended that for so many years. World working in mysterious ways….

    Thanks again, and I look forward to seeing you again in Austin soon!

    – Caroline

  3. Delaine Clester Says:

    That’s a pretty nice post, i was reading something similar on another web page not too long ago that basically said the same thing although yours is better, plus its good to have some validation on seeing two resources agree.

Leave a Reply

