Summer

Hey dolls,

cannot believe the end of Summer is nigh . . . sigh. Almost my birthday again . . . sheesh! Have been so bloody busy lately; loads of travel. When your boyfriend lives 1500 miles away, what’s a girl gonna do? I can’t bear to miss him play (in every way) for too long! Just visited him for a few days, saw several gigs which make my heart sing. . . his version of Dion’s “Love Came To Me” takes me to a place I didn’t even know existed-pure musical bliss, coupled with my early teen obsession, buying his 45s at the Reseda Record Rack. . . the glory of it is beyond words…and I like Houston, and Houston likes Mike Stinson. He is nominated for 4 Houston Music Awards and you can vote here: http://polls.houstonpress.com/polls/hou/mas2010/

I also taught another writing workshop in New York with my fantabulous Manhattan dolls, 18 of them! We had a blast! I plan to be back there in November for another round. I stay with sweet Sharon Ackerman, the hostess with it all!

I am now in Novato, Ca visiting my James Dean pal, Toni Lee Scott. . . she and Jimmy were very close. Can you imagine? What a story! I wrote a script about them which is still AVAILABLE!

Last weekend I took 10 people on my 8th (9th?) Rock Tour of Hollywood & Laurel Canyon. . .and it was a first for even me! Our screenwriter for HBO’s upcoming “I’m WIth the Band,” the crazily gifted Jill Soloway came along and wanted to peruse my actual diaries, and as I thumbed through those Very Important Tomes, I came across a map that Gram Parsons drew for me back in 1969, directions to their new pad off Woodrow Wilson Drive, “Burrito Manor.” He wrote “Look for the Brick Pillars,” and lo and be-be-behold, they were still there! I even wrote a song/poem called “Brick Pillars” about my love for Mr. Hillman.

That’s where I met my goddaughter, Polly Parsons when GP asked me to babysit her. She was almost a year and a half, an exquisite, serious little toddler. I hadn’t been there since they moved out n 1970. My soul thrummed dolls and sprouted wings- as you can see!

The pillars at Burrito Manor

Pamela at Burrito Manor
Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Summer”

  1. Lisa McDonald Says:

    Having gone on this tour last week,
    I can honestly say, Pamela des Barres rocks!
    As a music writer and rock and roll chick myself,
    I’ve been a fan of hers for decades.
    Sitting in a van beside her
    had me tongue-tied most of the time I’m afraid
    and unfortunately I’ve been struggling
    through a recent rock and roll heartache
    which was hard to keep out of my mind.
    But I must say,
    Miss Pamela is even lovelier and more beautiful in person,
    very real,
    and looks twenty years younger than her actual age!
    Since the tour,
    I’ve been reading Take Another Little Piece of My Heart
    and noted the J Krishnamurti experience.
    I just recently discovered this man.
    When I find out how to gobblygook the address,
    I too will post my photos of you standing between
    those Burrito pillars Pamela.
    But to think,
    this is the stop on the tour when
    I just had to pee behind the van!
    But as I squatted,
    I could still hear you above the hiss…
    reading about Hillman and Parsons.
    You were so excited about finding this place again.
    Every rock and roll chick must do this tour!

    p.s.
    the things I respect about you the most
    are your honesty and strength.
    Rock on~

  2. robert Says:

    What a beautiful pair of pictures!

  3. Miss Sofia Says:

    Oh, it must me so amazing to return to those places after so many years. I’d be flippin’ out, for sure. Next time I go to the US I’ll make an extra effort to go on your Writing Workshop or on your Rock Tour, I’m sure it would be an incredible experience.

    Also, this post was written on my birthday. =)

  4. derek Says:

    I am going out to LA in a few weeks. Where exactly is the Burrito Manor? I would love to drive by and see it.

  5. J Thompson Says:

    Going to Joshua in November and staying for two days!! So exited!

Leave a Reply

